Photos by Rosalie O'Connor

Photos by Rosalie O'Connor

An American Ballet Theatre Certified School

The New Ballet School - San Jose (NBS) is an American Ballet Theatre Certified School. As the only ABT-Certified School on the West Coast NBS is one of only five schools with this designation world-wide. NBS is a key partner in supporting ABT’s education and training initiatives around the country. Committed to teaching ABT’s National Training Curriculum with faculty that is certified to teach the ABT Curriculum, NBS presents students annually for ABT Affiliate Examinations along with hosting the American Ballet Theatre Young Dancer Summer Workshop program, and ABT auditions, ABT NTC Teacher Training Intensives and Project Plié events.


American Ballet Theatre National Training Curriculum

The ABT National Training Curriculum is a program for the development and training of young students that embraces sound ballet principles and incorporates elements of the French, Italian and Russian schools of training. Under the direction of ABT Artistic Director Kevin McKenzie, ABT’s National Training Curriculum was designed and written by Franco De Vita and Raymond Lukens in collaboration with ABT’s Artistic Advisors and the Medical Advisory Board. The ABT National Training Curriculum aims to assist beginning through advanced teachers in training dance students to use their bodies correctly, focusing on kinetics and coordination, as well as anatomy and proper body alignment. Artistically, the National Training Curriculum strives to provide dance students with a rich knowledge of classical ballet technique and the ability to adapt to all styles and techniques of dance.

To become an ABT Certified Teacher, candidates must complete intensive training in the ABT National Training Curriculum and successfully pass comprehensive examinations. ABT Certified Teachers are permitted to teach the ABT National Training Curriculum only to the levels in which they have successfully completed the training intensive and required examination.  The three levels of certification must be obtained in succession.